Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum?

15
Maryse Dicki asked a question: Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum?
Asked By: Maryse Dicki
Date created: Wed, Jun 2, 2021 12:09 PM
Date updated: Mon, Aug 1, 2022 3:27 AM
Categories: Sorcerer table 5e

Content

Video answer: The sims 4: become a sorcerer! (mod showcase)

The sims 4: become a sorcerer! (mod showcase)

Top best answers to the question «Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum»

What can a warlock do with mystic Arcanum?

  • The Warlock can choose any spell he currently knows to cast at the level of Mystic Arcanum that he currently possesses (e.g. Cloud of Daggers, using his 6th level Mystic Arcanum.) That Mystic Arcanum usage could only be regained upon long rests, a la RAW.

When you choose your 6th level mystic arcanum, you have to pick a 6th level spell from the warlock spell list. This becomes your 6th level mystic arcanum that you can cast only once per day at level 6. Same goes for the other mystic arcanums but with their respective levels (7, 8, and 9 etc.).

  • Giving a warlock the ability to upcast their regular spells (or other Mystic Arcanum spells) gives them some modestly improved flexibility, but it's pretty unlikely they'll be able to use it for some kind of absurd cheese, especially given that Warlocks already don't have a terribly robust list of spells.

Can a warlock use mystic Arcanum?

  • That Mystic Arcanum usage could only be regained upon long rests, a la RAW. The Warlock would still only choose one spell per Mystic Arcanum that they learned. The Warlock would also be able to 'upcast' his lower level Mystic Arcanums, should they allow it (e.g. Create Undead, at level 9).

How does the Warlock mystic Arcanum feature work?

  • So, I read more into the specific wording of the Warlock Mystic Arcanum feature and it states this: At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot.

FAQ

Those who are looking for an answer to the question «Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum?» often ask the following questions:

⁉️ Can warlocks cast their mystic arcanum spells at higher levels?

At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

⁉️ Can you use an arcane focus for warlock spells?

  • You can use an arcane focus as a spellcasting focus for your warlock spells. In your study of occult lore, you have unearthed Eldritch Invocations, fragments of forbidden knowledge that imbue you with an abiding magical ability.

⁉️ Can you use pact magic with mystic arcanum?

  • If that reasoning is not convincing, here's a bit of circumstantial evidence underlining the necessary separation of the two features: Notice that the spells you gain access to with Pact Magic and Mystic Arcanum cannotbe the same due to incompatible spell levels!

⁉️ Do i need material components for mystic arcanum?

  • It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells. This becomes very important for spells such as Forcecage or Plane Shift. Show activity on this post. Mystic Arcanum only excuses the spell slot requirement.

⁉️ Do i need mystic arcanum for pact magic?

  • No, the warlock's Pact Magic feature is a completely separate feature from the Mystic Arcanum feature, and each independently describes how you get spells without relying on or referring to the other. Pact Magic says you get another spell known at e.g. 11th level, so you do, period.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum count against spells known?

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th level, you gain a new spell known of maximum 5th-level via Pact Magic, and a 6th-level Mystic Arcanum spell. These cannot be the same since they are different spell levels.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum count as spells known?

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th level, you gain a new spell known of maximum 5th-level via Pact Magic, and a 6th-level Mystic Arcanum spell. These cannot be the same since they are different spell levels.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum spells count towards my spells known?

A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table's Slot Level column for your level. The Slot Level column never increases above …

⁉️ Do the spells learned with mystic arcanum require material?

Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again. It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells.

Video answer: Medieval inn music and fantasy inn music

Medieval inn music and fantasy inn music

10 other answers

With the currently (03/2019) released spells, it's balanced. Non-warlock full casters can cast their spells with higher-level slots. Since the level at which warlocks gain Mystic Arcanum spells of level X is equal to the level at which non-warlocks get level X spells and slots, they can't cast spells of a given level more often than non-warlock-spellcasters - with or without your house rule.

Warlocks access 6th through 9th level spells through the class's Mystic Arcanum feature: At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before ...

By lvl 11, your Warlock will have crazy upcasting powers for any AOE spells, and plenty of single target DPS with Eldritch Blast, so picking up fun & useful spells for your Mystic Arcanum seems like the most fun way to go. There's almost no situation, other than a straight slugfest, where Arcane Gate wouldn't be a good choice imo.

Mystic Arcanum is an appropriate level spell from the warlock spell list. It doesn't state a spell from the specific spell level list. For example, charm person cast in a 7th level slot is a 7th level warlock spell in that context. If the player wanted to take a 7th level slot charm person for the 7th level Arcanum there's no reason to disallow it.

At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

As the Mystic Arcanum says: At 11-20th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot.

Mystic Arcanum. At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a Long Rest before you can do so again.

Warlocks don't get a lot of spell slots, yet have access to so many spells. Warlocks also do not get level 6 spell slots or higher, but instead get an ability - Mystic Arcanum - which acts to cast level 6 and higher spells… This spell can also be used like Banishment, sending targets to another plane of existence.

At 5th level your warlock should know 9 spells: 3 cantrips and 6 regular. (Your patron doesn't add extra spells, but adds spells to your warlock list.) Mystical arcanum doesn't overtly specify if it counts against your spells known, but it's strongly implied that it is separate.

The only problem is, Shadow of Moil does those things much earlier in a warlock's tenure and better too. It also uses a lower-level spell slot considering Investiture of Stone is a Mystic Arcanum spell. 4 OVERPOWERED: MASS SUGGESTION Being creative with spells is one of the best selling points of spellcaster classes.

Your Answer

We've handpicked 6 related questions for you, similar to «Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum?» so you can surely find the answer!

Do warlocks learn spells in addition to mystic arcanum?

No, the warlock's Pact Magic feature is a completely separate feature from the Mystic Arcanum feature, and each independently describes how you get spells without relying on or referring to the other.

Do you need material components for mystic arcanum spells?
  • Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again. It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells.
Does eldritch master work with mystic arcanum spells sage advice?

Eldritch Master: At 20th level, you can draw on your inner reserve of mystical power while entreating your patron to regain expended spell slots. You can spend 1 minute entreating your patron for aid to regain all your expended spell slots from your Pact Magic feature. Once you regain spell slots with this feature, you must finish a long rest before you can do so again.

Does eldritch master work with mystic arcanum spells?

No. Mystic Arcanum specifically does not use spell slots. The ability would only let you regain your 4 pact magic slots. level 1. Ioregnak. Artificer 3 points · …

How important are the material components for mystic arcanum spells?
  • It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells. This becomes very important for spells such as Forcecage or Plane Shift. Mystic Arcanum only excuses the spell slot requirement. At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum.
What level can a warlock get spells?
  • With Mystic Arcanum, a warlock gets a level 6,7,8, and 9 spell. This occurs when a warlock reaches levels 11, 13, 15, and 17 respectively. The Arcanum is the only way for a warlock to get spells above level five. Choose wisely, as the Arcanum only allows you to take one from each of the six levels. The rules for these spells are different, too.