Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell?

1
Sunny Borer asked a question: Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell?
Asked By: Sunny Borer
Date created: Thu, Jul 29, 2021 10:37 PM
Date updated: Thu, Jul 21, 2022 11:06 PM

Content

Top best answers to the question «Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell»

  • Giving a warlock the ability to upcast their regular spells (or other Mystic Arcanum spells) gives them some modestly improved flexibility, but it's pretty unlikely they'll be able to use it for some kind of absurd cheese, especially given that Warlocks already don't have a terribly robust list of spells.

FAQ

Those who are looking for an answer to the question «Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell?» often ask the following questions:

⁉️ Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known?

As a level 11 Warlock could they know 11 1-5 spells & 1 MA— Joshua Watkins (@KlarterBlue) November 20, 2016 Mystic Arcanum has no relation to the number of …

⁉️ Can a warlock learn more than one mystic arcanum?

  • The Warlock would still only choose one spell per Mystic Arcanum that they learned. The Warlock would also be able to 'upcast' his lower level Mystic Arcanums, should they allow it (e.g. Create Undead, at level 9).

⁉️ Can warlocks use spell slots on their mystic arcanum?

\$\begingroup\$ Mystic Arcanum doesn't use Spell Slots, so it can't be cast at a higher level. The Mystic Arcanum gained at 17th level requires you select a 9th level spell. \$\endgroup\$ – Drunk Cynic

⁉️ Can you cast a mystic arcanum with a spell slot?

Mystic Arcanum doesn't work that way - they aren't spell slots. Instead the spell you pick with the feature is permanently tied to the slot. In order to …

⁉️ Can you cast a standard spell as your mystic arcanum?

Mystic Arcanum literally says: You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do …

⁉️ Can you cast warlock spells using mystic arcana?

You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again. At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

⁉️ Can you change mystic arcanum spell when you level?

Yes but let's say your a 15th-level warlock. You have 6th, 7th, and 8th level mystic arcanum spells. If you wanted to cast finger of death as an 8th-level spell, doing so could use up your 8th level mystic arcanum instead of your 7th level mystic arcanum.

⁉️ Do i need a spell slot for mystic arcanum?

  • It says nothing about having or needing the material components for the Mystic Arcanum spells. This becomes very important for spells such as Forcecage or Plane Shift. Show activity on this post. Mystic Arcanum only excuses the spell slot requirement. At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum count as warlock spells know?

As a level 11 Warlock could they know 11 1-5 spells & 1 MA— Joshua Watkins (@KlarterBlue) November 20, 2016 Mystic Arcanum has no relation to the number of …

Your Answer

We've handpicked 6 related questions for you, similar to «Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell?» so you can surely find the answer!

Do warlock mystic arcanum count towards spells known?

The Slot Level column never increases above "5th", so a warlock can never know a warlock spell of 6th level or higher. Therefore the Mystic Arcanum spells must be known separately from the warlock's Pact Magic spells.

Do you need a spell slot for mystic arcanum?
  • Mystic Arcanum only excuses the spell slot requirement. At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an arcanum. Choose one 6th-level spell from the warlock spell list as this arcanum. You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot.
Does boon of spell recall work with mystic arcanum?

Boon of Spell Recall does not specify the level the spell is cast at. In such cases it is usually assumed it is cast at the lowest level it can be cast at. I cannot find a definitive rule for this, but there is precedent in how magic items are handled (DMG 141). It is logical, since spells have to be cast at a given level. If we accept this, High Magic is more powerful, as the additional casting gained is 9th level.

Does mystic arcanum apply to each spell slot?

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th level, you gain a new spell known of maximum 5th-level via Pact Magic, and a 6th-level Mystic Arcanum spell. These cannot be the same since they are different spell levels.

How many mystic arcanum spells does a warlock have?
  • That is correct, at high level the warlock with have a Mystic Arcanum spell for 6, 7, 8, and 9-level spell slots and can cast all 4 of them 1 time per long rest. Yup. Resulting in 2 5th slots back each short rest, and then 1 of each 6,7,8,9 on a long rest.
What can i replace my mystic arcanum spell with?
  • At Level 12, you can replace a spell from the Mystic Arcanum feature with another. Bond of the Talisman (Min. Level 12). Pact of the Talisman warlocks can lend their talisman to another person. Both you and the wearer can teleport to each other. Eldritch Mind. You get advantage on Constitution saving throws when maintaining spell concentration.