Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known?

13
Larue Collier asked a question: Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known?
Asked By: Larue Collier
Date created: Thu, Jul 15, 2021 5:15 PM
Date updated: Tue, Aug 2, 2022 5:34 PM

Content

Top best answers to the question «Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known»

No, the warlock's Pact Magic feature is a completely separate feature from the Mystic Arcanum feature, and each independently describes how you get spells without relying on or referring to the other. Pact Magic says you get another spell known at e.g. 11th level, so you do, period.

Can a warlock know a 6th level mystic Arcanum spell?

  • The Slot Level column never increases above "5th", so a warlock can never know a warlock spell of 6th level or higher. Therefore the Mystic Arcanum spells must be known separately from the warlock's Pact Magic spells. Share Improve this answer
  • The Mystic Arcanums do not count toward your spells known, they are separate unique once a day abilities you get. And since you don't get spell slots above 5th level, using these Mystic Arcanums once a day either does not use slots or you get a special slot just to cast it...

FAQ

Those who are looking for an answer to the question «Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known?» often ask the following questions:

⁉️ Can a warlock know mystic arcanum spells?

  • The Slot Level column never increases above "5th", so a warlock can never know a warlock spell of 6th level or higher. Therefore the Mystic Arcanum spells must be known separately from the warlock's Pact Magic spells. Show activity on this post.

⁉️ Can a warlock learn more than one mystic arcanum?

  • The Warlock would still only choose one spell per Mystic Arcanum that they learned. The Warlock would also be able to 'upcast' his lower level Mystic Arcanums, should they allow it (e.g. Create Undead, at level 9).

⁉️ Can a warlock upcast a mystic arcanum spell?

  • Giving a warlock the ability to upcast their regular spells (or other Mystic Arcanum spells) gives them some modestly improved flexibility, but it's pretty unlikely they'll be able to use it for some kind of absurd cheese, especially given that Warlocks already don't have a terribly robust list of spells.

⁉️ Can a warlock use mystic arcanum?

  • That Mystic Arcanum usage could only be regained upon long rests, a la RAW. The Warlock would still only choose one spell per Mystic Arcanum that they learned. The Warlock would also be able to 'upcast' his lower level Mystic Arcanums, should they allow it (e.g. Create Undead, at level 9).

⁉️ Can regular warlock spells be used for mystic arcanum?

With the currently (03/2019) released spells, it's balanced. Non-warlock full casters can cast their spells with higher-level slots. Since the level at which warlocks gain Mystic Arcanum spells of level X is equal to the level at which non-warlocks get level X spells and slots, they can't cast spells of a given level more often than non-warlock-spellcasters - with or without your house rule.

⁉️ Can warlocks cast their mystic arcanum spells at higher levels?

At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

⁉️ Can you cast warlock spells using mystic arcana?

You can cast your arcanum spell once without expending a spell slot. You must finish a long rest before you can do so again. At higher levels, you gain more warlock spells of your choice that can be cast in this way: one 7th-level spell at 13th level, one 8th-level spell at 15th level, and one 9th-level spell at 17th level. You regain all uses of your Mystic Arcanum when you finish a long rest.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum count against spells known?

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th level, you gain a new spell known of maximum 5th-level via Pact Magic, and a 6th-level Mystic Arcanum spell. These cannot be the same since they are different spell levels.

⁉️ Do mystic arcanum count as spells known?

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th level, you gain a new spell known of maximum 5th-level via Pact Magic, and a 6th-level Mystic Arcanum spell. These cannot be the same since they are different spell levels.

10 other answers

As a level 11 Warlock could they know 11 1-5 spells & 1 MA— Joshua Watkins (@KlarterBlue) November 20, 2016 Mystic Arcanum has no relation to the number of …

All Mystic Arcanum spells you gain are of a level (6th and up) that is inaccessible to your Pact Magic, which tops out at 5th-level spells. For example, at 11th …

Does a warlocks Mystic Arcanum count for their spell list? Reading the 5e handbook it says warlocks get a level 6th spell at eleventh level and a 7th, 8th …

Do the spells a warlock learns through his Mystic Arcanum feature count towards his total of spells known? looking at the warlock table, the learn a new …

Warlocks access 6th through 9th level spells through the class's Mystic Arcanum feature: At 11th level, your patron bestows upon you a magical secret called an …

Does the 5E Warlock spells known limit factor in Mystic Arcanum? #dnd #Dungeonsanddragons #SageAdvice #officialanswer

[Warlock 5e] Mystic Arcanum spells required to be in the spellbook? 5th Edition I was wondering if you have to write down your Mystic Arcanum spells in …

Additionally, when you gain a level in this class, you can choose one of the warlock spells you know and replace it with another spell from the warlock spell …

It seems like it goes against the rest of the class' spam abilities by effectively giving it high level spell slots in line with the rest of the high end casters. I've …

Hi all! I've been trying to tweak a class for a player, who wants a sort of gish that likes to blast away but doesn't care about high level spells. Specifically, he would like to cast several 6th spells per day while having good martial abilities. I first thought about just telling him to take a Favored Soul Sorcerer, because you can upcast spells, but he prefered the Warlock because of the ...

Your Answer

We've handpicked 6 related questions for you, similar to «Are warlock mystic arcanum counted in their spells known?» so you can surely find the answer!

Do mystic arcanum count as warlock spells know?

As a level 11 Warlock could they know 11 1-5 spells & 1 MA— Joshua Watkins (@KlarterBlue) November 20, 2016 Mystic Arcanum has no relation to the number of …

Do mystic arcanum spells count towards my spells known?

A spell you choose must be of a level no higher than what’s shown in the table's Slot Level column for your level. The Slot Level column never increases above …

Do warlock mystic arcanum count towards spells known?

The Slot Level column never increases above "5th", so a warlock can never know a warlock spell of 6th level or higher. Therefore the Mystic Arcanum spells must be known separately from the warlock's Pact Magic spells.

Does eldritch master work with mystic arcanum spells?

No. Mystic Arcanum specifically does not use spell slots. The ability would only let you regain your 4 pact magic slots. level 1. Ioregnak. Artificer 3 points · …

Does mystic arcanum count against spells?

@jaa0109 @mikemearlsWarlock Mystic Arcanum: Do these count against the Warlocks spells known? No. — Jeremy Crawford (@JeremyECrawford) April 1, 2016

How many mystic arcanum spells does a warlock have?
  • That is correct, at high level the warlock with have a Mystic Arcanum spell for 6, 7, 8, and 9-level spell slots and can cast all 4 of them 1 time per long rest. Yup. Resulting in 2 5th slots back each short rest, and then 1 of each 6,7,8,9 on a long rest.